— Committee on Cultural Diversity within the Church: Bishop Nelson J. Perez of Cleveland over Bishop Shelton J. Fabre of Houma-Thibodaux, Louisiana, 102-77.

Follow Sadowski on Twitter: @DennisSadowski.

Archbishop Vigneron will succeed New Orleans Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond, who’s beginning his third and final year of his three-year term. The Detroit prelate assists twelve months as secretary-elect after which begin a three-year term at work following the 2018 fall general set up.

In their spring meeting in June, the bishops dicated to make that which was an hoc religious liberty body a lasting standing committee. Baltimore Archbishop William E. Lori offered as chairman from the committee since its creation this year.

Bishops voted 96-88 to elect Archbishop Vigneron November. 14 throughout their fall general set up.

Votes also were cast for any new chairman from the bishops’ Committee for Religious Liberty and chairmen-elect for that committees on Communications, Cultural Diversity within the Church, Doctrine, National Collections and Pro-Existence Activities.

Individuals elected include:

— Committee on Communications: Bishop Michael F. Burbidge of Arlington, Virginia, over Bishop John O. Barres of Rockville Center, New You are able to, 116-70.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *