Citing poor weather conditions, the panel canceled a public meeting that was scheduled for Friday morning. Individual committee members have given their recommendations to UND president Mark Kennedy, who is expected to make a final decision in the next few days.

Five EWU coaches have won coach of the year honors in the Big Sky Conference – Miles Kydd (volleyball), Wendy Schuller (women’s basketball), Darren Haworth (tennis), Beau Baldwin (football) and Jim Hayford (men’s basketball). Baldwin also earned national coach of the year accolades after his team’s 2010 national title.

The men’s basketball team has appeared in three consecutive postseason tournaments, including the NCAA Tournament in 2015.

Chaves did not respond to messages on Friday, and he was not at Reese Court on Friday night for the Eagles’ basketball doubleheader against Idaho.

The odds are good that Eastern Washington University may soon be looking for a new athletic director.

Chaves has enjoyed success on and off the fields and courts at Eastern. The football program has earned seven playoff berths during a 10-year span from 2007-16, and won the FCS national title in 2010.

Chaves is one of four finalists, all of whom interviewed this week with a 16-member committee and participated in public forums on the Grand Forks, North Dakota, campus.

“President Kennedy attended all of the open forums. He also had one-on-one meetings with the Executive Council (which is his advisory council) this week,” UND spokesman Peter Johnson told the Grand Forks Herald on Friday night.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *